Department of Radiation Oncology

Our Mission: 

To bring the most advanced care to our patients by being at the cutting edge of research and technology. 


SCI 2023 March Innovation Awards

December 7, 2022

Wu Liu, PhD's proposal, “Cone beam CT-guided, electromagnetic bronchoscopy-aided delivery of high dose rate brachytherapy for peripheral lung mass ablation”, was selected for funding as one of the Stanford Cancer Institute (SCI) 2023 March Innovation Awards.

SCI 2023 March – Women’s Cancer Center Innovation Award

December 7, 2022

Erqi Pollom, MD, MS, Manali Patel, MD, MS and Kekoa Taparra, MD, PhD's proposal, “The impact of Multiraciality, Comorbidity, and Geography on Cancer Disparities Among the Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander Population in the United States”, was selected for funding as one of the Stanford Cancer Institute (SCI) 2023 March – Women’s Cancer Center Innovation Award.

NIH Grant

November 2, 2022

We are excited that Dr. Anusha Kalbasi, the physician scientist who will be joining the department on December 1, has received a grant from the NIH for his project “Synthetic IL9R signaling to rewire T cells for adoptive cell therapy of cancer”!

NCI Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (K08)

August 15, 2022

Everett Moding, MD, PhD receives NCI K08 grant to support his career development and his research to develop biomarkers for patients with sarcomas who are treated with radiation therapy.

2022 Under One Umbrella-Women’s Cancer Innovation Award

August 1, 2022

Elizabeth Kidd, MD and Thomas Niedermayr, PhD receive 2022 Under One Umbrella-Women’s Cancer Innovation Award from the Stanford Women’s Cancer Center, Stanford Cancer Institute for their research proposal, “Faster is Better: Artificial Intelligence Optimized Cervical Cancer Brachytherapy Treatment Customization.”


Faculty Spotlight: Everett Moding, MD, PhD

March 20, 2023

Growing up, Dr. Everett Moding always loved the harder subjects in school. Math was a breeze, and science fascinated him endlessly. When he was young, his father worked as an accountant in a biotechnology company, and sometimes, a young Moding would accompany him to work. While his dad crunched the numbers, Moding would take in the scenes of the company’s bustling research lab. 

Scientific Council Review

February 28, 2023

Susan Hiniker, MD, Assistant Professor and Director of the Pediatric Radiation Oncology Program, has received approval from the Children's Oncology Group (COG) Scientific Council for the concept summary ARST23P1, "Catequentinib (Anlotinib) in Combination with Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy (SBRT) in Children and Young Adults with Relapsed/Refractory Nonrhabdomyosarcoma Soft Tissue Sarcoma (NRSTS)."

Faculty Spotlight: Elham Rahimy, MD 

February 27, 2023 

Dr. Elham Rahimy empowers through knowledge. Her two facets of research include resident and patient education, with an emphasis on the latter. Radiation oncology is a complicated field, especially to a patient who might have limited knowledge on the subject of cancer treatment, let alone radiation.

National Cancer Prevention Month - Binkley Lab

February 17, 2023

SCI member Michael Binkley, MD, MS, Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, has dedicated a significant amount of time to researching lymphoma, specifically focusing on an rare subtype of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma called nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Utilizing the data from over 2,000 patients collected by the Global nLPHL One Working (GLOW), an international consortium co-founded by Binkley, Binkley Lab have been characterizing lymphatic tumor microenvironments.

Edith H. Quimby Lifetime Achievement Award

January 24, 2023

Lei Xing, PhD, receives the 2023 Edith H. Quimby Award for Lifetime Achievement in Medical Physics from the AAPM (American Association of Physicists in Medicine). This honor recognizes AAPM members whose careers have been notable based on their outstanding achievements.

Faculty Spotlight: Michael Binkley, MD, MS 

January 18, 2023

Dr. Michael Binkley discovered his passion for cancer care as an undergrad studying chemistry at Northwestern University, Chicago. Synthesizing potential new drugs and therapies for those suffering with such a complex disease fascinated him endlessly, and propelled him down a path of innovation. Now, Dr. Binkley is an assistant professor in the department of radiation oncology. 

Clinical Care

Eradicating cancer and other diseases and eliminating cancer healthcare disparities by providing the highest quality, compassionate, cutting-edge, personalized radiation therapy.

Cancer Center South Bay (CCSB) Celebrates its 7th Birthday

July 16, 2022

As Cancer Center South Bay (CCSB) celebrates its 7th birthday, take a look back on the journey that led to this flourishing satellite campus. When CCSB first opened its doors in 2015, it set a precedent.

“This building is unique in that it is Stanford from the ground up,” Dr. Carol Marquez, director of radiation oncology at CCSB, said. “We send patients back and forth from the main campus where they will send patients down to us for treatment, and vice versa.”


New Linear Accelerator Now Live as Part of Stanford Medicine

December 14, 2022

On Nov. 30, the Eden Radiation Oncology Center team, in collaboration with Stanford Medicine, celebrated the center’s new linear accelerator going online and accepting the first patient to benefit from the technology upgrade, which was planned and executed as part of the Stanford Medicine | Sutter Health Cancer Collaborative in response to the growing demand for radiation oncology services in the East Bay.

Mevion’s Compact Proton Therapy System

October 24, 2022

Stanford Health Care will be the location where the system will be installed and developed.

CyberKnife S7 Opening at Neurosciences Health Center

September 12, 2022

Stanford Medicine held a commemoration event on August 25, 2022, celebrating the new CyberKnife S7 at the Neuroscience Health Center. The addition of the S7 brings more seamless care to patients, with office visits, imaging, and procedures under one roof.

Speakers at the ribbon-cutting ceremony included Stanford Health Care leaders Alison Kerr and Sri Seshadri, and Stanford emeritus professor John Adler, MD, inventor of the CyberKnife. Other speakers included: Quynh Le, MD; Michael Lim, MD; Steven Chang, MD; and Scott Soltys, MD.

2022 Stanford Health Care Medical Staff Awards

June 2, 2022

The Department of Radiation Oncology was recognized with the Patient Experience Recognition Award.


Training the next generation of compassionate leaders in radiation oncology, biology, and physics to address the healthcare needs of diverse populations through innovation, personalized patient care and research.


Biomedical Physics Program Launches

October 11, 2022

Six doctoral students are part of the inaugural class of the new program in the School of Medicine that employs physics and engineering to solve clinical problems.

2022 Vizient Summit

September 22, 2022

Dr. Claire Baniel (PGY3 Rad Onc) and Dr. Melissa Frick (PGY5 Rad Onc) presented their work on “Implementing Environmentally Sustainable Practices in Outpatient Oncology Clinic” in a poster session at the Vizient annual conference this week. Vizient is the largest group purchasing organization in the US, and an organization that provides services and analytics on quality rankings, financial benchmarking and QI/process improvement work. The conference had 5000 attendees.